The Daily Grind: Step by Step Everyday Makeup

I’ve talked about my everyday look before (I always give my skin a few days a week of no makeup to breathe though), and since I love watching people do step-by-step looks, I’d figure I’d do my own here!

003

Products that will be used:

POND’S Dry Skin Cream, Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream, Covergirl Invisible Concealer, ColourPop Super Shock Eyeshadow in Shark Attack, Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara, Revlon Brow Fantasy Gel/Pencil, Physician’s Formula Argan Wear Blush, ColourPop Julep Lip Liner, ColourPop Lippie Stix in Julep. I use an angled blush brush for blush, a dense, round brush (not sure what it’s for, but I think it’s a powder brush) for concealer, and a small, dense stippling brush for the ColourPop eyeshadow.

018

Bare face

While this is now my everyday look, my tastes change so quickly it could be entirely different in a month from now. Keep in mind that when I started this blog, and even up to just a month and a half ago, I hated blush and found it useless; now blush is my favourite cosmetic. As for now, though, and for over a month, this has been my routine:

006

009

When I first wake up, before bed, and right before I apply my makeup, I dab on a quarter-sized amount of POND’S Dry Skin Cream, and gently massage it into my face using circular motions and upwards strokes. Then, I let it absorb for about 10 minutes before I apply my makeup.

024

025

031

After I’ve waited, I put on my Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream in Light. I don’t use a brush to apply this, applying it more like moisturizer than foundation. I dab it on the parts of my face that most need coverage, then just use my fingers to blend it around and gently drum it in. Then I let it sit for a few minutes to completely dry.

039

043

051

059

After that, I use Covergirl’s Invisible Concealer in Fair (you can tell this is a beloved tube, because all the lettering has worn off). It’s nearly empty, and while I might extend the usage one more time with a bit of water in the tube, I’ll soon be switching over to a different concealer, so I won’t repurchase. I use more concealer than I probably should, but ey. I apply it to the most problem areas, and using the short, dense, round brush, stipple it in with fast patting motions.

066

Depending on how I’m feeling, I’ll use a different eyeshadow, but normally only one unless I’m using Tarte’s Tartelette Amazonian Clay Palette. I normally stick with ColourPop’s Beauty Call, a light matte blue that matches my tank top perfectly. Today, I felt like shaking things up a bit and using ColourPop’s Shark Attack, a shade I bought a bit ago that I have only worn a few times. For cream eyeshadows, I use a small, dense stippling brush to lightly dig it out.

069 080

083

I’ve tried it with a number of other brushes and my own fingers, and nothing else gives me quite the pigment. I swipe it on my lid as I would with any other brush, using a windshield wiper motion, and then dip again and repeat for the other eye.

087

Afterwards, I curl my eyelashes. I’m not very particular about eyelash curlers, having used an old one from Dollar General for years with beautiful results. I start at the very base of my lashes and close it fairly tightly for about ten seconds, then again about a quarter of the way down my lashes, not quite at the tip, and past the halfway point. This time I only hold it for eight seconds. Repeat for the other eye, then time for mascara.

090

095

Like my eyeshadow, I vary which mascara I wear for everyday. Normally it’s something subtle, like Hard Candy’s Ginormous Lash Mascara, or Wet n Wild’s megaplump Mascara. Today, to go with the more subtle eyeshadow, I wanted to go bold with the mascara. One of my boldest mascaras is Maybelline Lash Sensational in Blackest Black.

105

110

To apply it, I do something I never see makeup bloggers talk about: I hold it to the base of my lashes, and blink. This makes it crazy thick and dark, and I’ve sworn by it for ages. Then I go through it a few more times, starting at the base and wiggling it from the base to the tip. I finish it by stroking it through quickly in an upwards sweep, then repeat the process for the other eye. I don’t really worry about the parts of it that have transferred, or how thick and clumpy it is now.

111

121

I wait for my mascara to dry, then take my comb/brush duo and comb through my eyelashes. This makes such a huge difference. I comb it almost the same way I put on mascara, first putting it at the base and wiggling it out, then sweeping through it a few times. Because they often stick together at this stage, I rotate my comb so it’s vertical and wiggle between each lash to define them. Repeat for the other eye. When I’m all done, I clear away the parts of the mascara that transferred to my skin by gently wiping it away with a makeup remover and touching up with concealer, or if you’re as unsanitary as I am, just licking your finger and wiping it away takes it off.

131

137

I can’t go too far without a tinted brow gel. My right brow hairs grow downwards, and the left eye’s sideways, so a brow gel is really essential. Revlon’s Brow Fantasy in Brunette is a dream, making my brows a nice, rich, warm brown. I never use the pencil side, instead just holding the gel brush horizontally, instead of vertically so the bristles go the direction of the hair. Then I drag it across, pulling my brows in the same direction. Some people brush them upwards to make them look fuller, but I like the nice, clean look of just brushing them horizontally.

141

I’ve got my reasons for liking this blush, even if it isn’t normally quite what I look for in a blush…

145

149

This is Physician’s Formula Argan Wear Blush in Natural, and to apply it, I take a large angled blush brush, swirl it around in the tin, and then swirl it around at the very edge of my cheekbones. I go around in a circular motion until almost all the pigment is gone from the brush, then brush it up towards my eye and nose. I doodled a picture to show what I mean!

1 2

152

163

165 171

The last thing is lipstick, and I always wear the same shade every day, ColourPop Lippie Stix in Julep. Since I got the matching lip liner, I always apply it first, and it’s so nice to have the colour held all day. I always go slightly outside my natural lip line, then fill it in gently over most of my lip.

178 179

Afterwards, I put on Julep. That’s it, except for the final step…

188

I should put on my setting spray before my mascara, but I forget every time without fail. Ach! A few sprays onto my face, let it dry, and I’m done! I’ve gotten used to this enough that I can do it in 10-15 minutes, not counting the time it takes for the face cream to absorb at the beginning,

197

Bonus: my wild cavewoman summer hair that I wouldn’t trade for anything. Since today is a work outside day, it gets to go up in a high ponytail.
221

bef

Final before and after.

Thank you for reading! What does your everyday makeup routine consist of? How long does it take you?

8 thoughts on “The Daily Grind: Step by Step Everyday Makeup

Leave a Reply

