A Marvelous Mouth with bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie Buttercream Lipgloss

016

I’ve discussed with you before how much I hate lipgloss, and during that time, I also said that I would be reviewing a boatload of lipglosses soon. I never did! Well, let’s recap: I hate lipgloss because it’s sticky, heavy, takes off my lipstick underneath, and isn’t opaque enough to wear on its own. In spite of this, I have somehow have collected about a dozen lipglosses.

Who keeps around a dozen things they hate? Well, there are some gems in that pile of rubbish, and the gem shines brightly.

001

So how good is this gem? So good the anti-gloss gal was so drawn to the display of bareMinerals’ Marvelous Movie Buttercream Lipgloss that she had to get one tube, and loved that tube so much she ran back and got another a few weeks later.

015

What’s so great about this particular gloss? Well for one, it’s delicious. I’m not even joking, I could eat it plain. It’s described as having a light vanilla scent, but I don’t think of it as vanilla… kind of buttercream icing/light dairy scent/taste? For those of you sensitive, that could be a detractor, but it was personally a selling point.

012

The big thing, though, is that it’s everything I could want in a gloss. It’s opaque without being overly heavy, but has a definite moisturizing weight to it, so it’s not watery and drying like a lip stain, and instead just feels like I’ve lightly dabbed and massaged some face cream into my lips. It isn’t sticky at all, but instead feels very soft. I hate to put it like this, but my lips feel very soft and sensual when I wear it! And believe me, that is not a feature I’d throw out at all carelessly. It is also glossy, and while I love gloss, this isn’t going to make your lips reflect every light in the room. It has a sheen and some enticing highlights. To me, this is the exact epitome of what lipgloss should be. And I haven’t even started on the colours yet.

019

Forbidden Nude is an almost garish pastel nudey pink when first applied, but if you give it a little bit, it quickly fades down into a gorgeous MLBB (my lips but better) shade, with all the subtlety, colour, and appeal you could ever hope for from a nude lipstick, much less a lip gloss. Even as someone who never really wears nude makeup (I’m actually getting into it slowly, Hell froze over), I still frequently reach for this shade because… it’s flattering. As in, I-just-exercised-in-80-percent-humidity-and-haven’t-been-able-to-sleep-but-damn-I-look-ready-for-the-ball flattering.

028

What’s better, because even though this is a light nude shade, it’s a thick enough consistency that it smooths out the appearance of your lips, rather than exaggerate fine lines and dryness. Although this does seem to thin a bit the longer you wear it, I noticed that they actually made my lips feel hydrated and smooth, and when I checked a mirror, it reflected that.

024

Moody Berry might intimidate you because it’s a dark cranberry lip gloss. Dark lip glosses are not easy to pull off, and are often patchy if not applied over lipstick, liner, or a stain first. I was hesitant about this shade, but it swatched so beautiful I took a dive, and I’m glad I did.

038

The genius of this formula is that it’s thick going on, but then thins down as it dries, so you can actually build it up in layers to a degree. It glides on smoothly, with absolutely no patchiness, and gives you a bright cherry colour on the first swipe; you can actually take your doe-foot applicator and go over it multiple times and it still won’t become patchy or streaky, it’ll only smooth it out and blend it further. After my first layer has dried (it doesn’t take very long, just a few minutes, you can actually feel it thinning so you know when it’s time for the next layer if you want it), I can add on another one, and bring it a bit closer to the dark cranberry the gloss actually is. I did notice that three layers seems to be the limit, as it starts to look a bit uneven by then. As it is, two layers is my favourite, and results in a deep berry perfect for Fall and Winter, yet colourful enough for Summer.

147

While these are glosses, and won’t last through any sort of meal, I find that they fade gracefully throughout the day. I’m honestly not sure how long these last total, as I constantly reapply when I see them begin to fade, but I can definitely say that they last longer than the vast majority of my glosses. Maybe three hours. They do leave a subtle stain behind!

097   095

Forbidden Nude

106 098

Moody Berry

Now, let’s talk about the hard part: the price tag. They’re $18 a pop. That’s not great, but it’s not awful, either. Honestly, for once, this is a price tag I’m willing to swallow for the quality I’m getting. What’s better, they’re cruelty free and contain shea, avocado, and murumuru butters.

Databroker_scrooge_mcduck

Even Scrooge McDuck advocates these lipglosses. That’s serious.

126 080

What about you? Have you ever tried any of these? Considering them?

20 thoughts on “A Marvelous Mouth with bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie Buttercream Lipgloss

  1. Omg the second one in your photo looks fantastic on you! I know nudes aren’t your fav but it looks really really pretty. I like the brighter one too but the nude is just such a change. I give you a 10+ on that nude – you are looking gorgeous!!!!!!!!! 🙌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so so so sweet!!! Thank you so much, this really made my day. ❤ ❤ I'm actually slowly getting into nudes more! Forbidden Nude is definitely a shade that is out of my comfort zone but I love, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. New to the blogging world and came across your blog 🙂 I love lip gloss but am also super picky. Will definitely try these…the colors are so pretty! If you hate that gloss feel and want color i would recommend Laura Mercier! Their lip glosses feel great and stay on your lips with great pigmentation 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, if even Scrooge McDuck- so what can i say 🙂 I like this lip glosses. Moody Berry is so pretty shade. I think it will seem great it it’s applied over the bordo or marsala lipstick!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

